top of page
  • Skye Compass

Places to Visit: The Old Man of Storr

Updated: Feb 13, 2022




I thought I'd kick off my "Places to Visit" section with the Old Man of Storr. This is a particular favourite of mine, and we've enjoyed this walk a few times with friends.


Unfortunately, it is probably one of the most popular places on the island with other tourists, so it's definitely not going to be somewhere you're going to have all to yourself. It's still well worth a visit though, and it's actually quite handy (for people like me who drink and pee pretty much constantly) that there is now a toilet in the car park.


The Old Man is part of the Storr (An Stor), a rocky hill on the Trotternish peninsula, just under 7 miles from Portree. The summit of the Storr is actually the highest point on the Trotternish peninsula and is part of the Trotternish Ridge, another amazing hike. This hike, however, is best enjoyed over two days as it's 22 miles long... that's a lot of photographs to stop and take. (I feel like I said Trotternish a lot.)





Back to the Old Man though..


The walk takes around 1.5-2 hours and covers a distance of 4.5km (2.75 miles). It's not an exceptionally challenging walk; I've seen many children manage it, and I'm not exactly the fittest hiker in the world. It can be quite steep and slippery in places though, especially at the foot of the Old Man, and it is quite a tiring hike because of this.


You will need sturdy walking boots and a pair of walking poles will probably be quite useful. Don't forget water and snacks! Also be sure to bring your camera and a pair of binoculars - the views are outstanding over the Inner Sound to Raasay, Rona, and Applecross, as well as the lochs below.






There is a charge for parking, and the car park gets very busy so I would recommend an early start.


I would also suggest taking the right hand path - it is the less steep of the two, so easier on the lungs going up and on the knees coming down!


Once up there, take some time to wander around the Sanctuary (in front of the Storr) to admire the other rock formations, not just the Old Man - don't worry, he won't mind. Look out for the Needle (also called the Cathedral). You will feel like you have stepped through a portal and arrived in a mythical, dragon-inhabited land. I think it's the moss that adds to the vibe - in my opinion, there is no moss like Scottish moss. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong..


"Why is it called the Old Man of Storr?" I hear you ask.


Well, for starters, "Storr" is derived from a Norse word meaning "Great Man".


Legend has it, the Old Man of Storr was a giant who lived in the Trotternish Ridge. When he was laid to rest, his thumb - "the Old Man" - remained partially above the ground, in a huge "thumbs up" forever more.


I've also heard another theory: the rock outline and protruding pinnacle apparently resemble the face of an old man. I'm not sure what old men looked like back then, but it certainly doesn't look anything like my grandad.


So decide for yourself which you prefer..


What's the best way to finish off your hike?


Either bring your own hot chocolate in a thermos, or pop back to Portree and get cosy in a coffee shop. Maybe have a bit of cake as well...think of all those calories you just burnt.


Tìoraidh!




Zsigi was one of the friends who enjoyed the hike; he found the view pretty awe inspiring.














32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page