top of page
  • Skye Compass

The Misty Isle

An t-Eilean Sgitheanach, or the Isle of Skye, is the largest island in the Inner Hebrides, Scotland. It has a rich history, dramatic landscapes, and abundant wildlife.


In Scots Gaelic, it is affectionately known as 'Eilean a' Cheo,' or 'the Misty Isle,' because it is so often shrouded in...well...mist.


However, the mist disappears almost as quickly as it rolls in, leaving blue skies and rainbows aplenty.


In my humble opinion, Skye is one of the most beautiful places on earth.


My name is Ness (Vanessa) and the first time my husband and I travelled to Skye - to Scotland, actually - was back in 2015, shortly after my father-in-law passed away. He was a Glaswegian by birth, but grew up on Skye and had many happy tales to tell of his childhood.


Andrew (my husband) wanted to see where his dad had grown up, so I booked a trip for him, and off we went.


And we were hooked.


I can't think about Skye without getting emotional. I don't know if it's the happy memories Andrew & I have made there - just the two of us, and with many friends - or if it's the incredible, otherworldly landscapes, or thinking about my father-in-law, or how appealing a simpler life in a beautiful place might be... I don't know what it is, but Skye has carved out an island-shaped place in my heart.


And I love to share it with others!


So really, that is the purpose of this blog. My aim is to show you the most beautiful and interesting parts of Skye, hopefully the less touristy side, and help you to see how you can be a responsible visitor - I know you know, but it's nice to be reminded.


I'm going to take you through each season and tell you what you need to pack, what you should be prepared for (weather, midges and all), and what you might see. There will be tips on where you can stay and where you can eat.


And I will be offering a personalised planning service so you don't have to worry about your itinerary!


So stay tuned, and please subscribe if you would like email notifications for my weekly content.


Tìoraidh!


Fairy Pools, September 2021



78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page